Reviews - St Ives Hotel

Excellent - Rating 5/5

While the property needs some facial improvements our stay was lovely . The hosts were super friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and well presented . Dinner and breakfast were of a high standard . We recommend the St Ives hotel highly.

Response

Kerri, thank you so much for your feedback and we are delighted you have enjoyed your stay.We hope to see you again one day!Best wishesJon and Katia

Reviewer:Kerri Donovan | Thu 5th Oct 2017


QUIET WEEKEND - Rating 5/5

I had a very pleasant weekend and the location of this hotel is magical.Peace and quiet to recharge is perfect.Good food, great hospitality.I can not wait to return to see the upcoming refurbishment

Response

Thank you, Margaret! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you very soon. Best wishesJon and Katia

Reviewer:Margaret Anderson | Wed 27th Sep 2017


OVER THE MOON IN DUNOON! - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our night\'s stay at the hotel. The room was ideal, and comfortable. The hotel is close to the Town Centre, which made for a pleasurable walk. The owners of the hotel were friendly, and took tome to speak to other guests at breakfast time.

Reviewer:Derek Christie | Thu 27th Jul 2017


Our Stay at St Ives Hotel - Rating 5/5

A fantastic friendly and comfortable hotel stay.Sandra and Matt were very helpful and the breakfast was great!! Will certainly go back.

Reviewer:Jim Barsby | Mon 17th Jul 2017


Welcome - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay at the St Ives made to feel very welcome.stunning views from the lounge and over breakfast.Spotless clean,friendly ,great breakfast and 5 minutes to town.

Reviewer:Peter Wise | Wed 12th Jul 2017


Great location. - Rating 4/5

I stayed one night in St Ives hotel and was very satisfied. The hotel is right on the bay, so good walks guaranteed, and lovey views too. My dog was made welcome, which always makes a difference to me. Sandra is a friendly hostess and the breakfast was very good. My room was very comfortable - great easy chair in there - I loved it.

Reviewer:Heather McGilvary | Sun 9th Jul 2017


Awesome people - Rating 5/5

Really fantastic, services, clean and quiet, look like to be in the past!!!!

Reviewer:Gianluca Federighi | Sun 9th Jul 2017


Accommodating accomodation - Rating 4/5

My wife and I were more than happy with the welcome and care afforded us by the owners. Comfortable room, en suite, and enjoyable full breakfast. I would recommend this affordable hotel, which has terrific views of sea and mountains

Reviewer:Alexander Nicol | Sun 9th Jul 2017


Friendly family owned hotel - Rating 5/5

Great comfortable room. Great breakfast. Terrific view. Friendly welcome. Will definately stay again.

Reviewer:Derek Golding | Fri 9th Jun 2017


Wonderful time in St Ives Hotel, Dunoon - Rating 4/5

My wife Margy and I spent a lovely 5 days in a very nice, smart hotel.Sandra and Matt were very welcoming and friendly and made us very welcome from the start. Sandra is a mind of information and informs you about the history of the area whilst Matt is a dab hand in the kitchen with mouthwatering full Scottish breakfasts!!We found the birds in the lounge very interesting indeed. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Reviewer:Keith Simpson | Mon 10th Apr 2017


2 days in dunoon - Rating 4/5

thank you, we enjoyed our stay. breakfast was 1st class. loved your bacon. james and moira

Reviewer:james thomson | Thu 6th Apr 2017


Hotel - Rating 3/5

Had a pleasent time comfy bed,breakfast lovely,a view to die for,quiet and nice owners

Reviewer:Donald MacLennan | Mon 19th Dec 2016


Friendly and clean - Rating 5/5

Very nice local hotel friendly and clean and nothing was too much trouble i changed my booking 3 times and they didnt mind

Reviewer:Cherie Tinenti | Mon 28th Nov 2016


Comfortable and convenient - Rating 4/5

I was made most welcome at the St.Ives by the hostess Sondra. She is a fountain of knowledge about the area and very helpful.The room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. With a full Scottish breakfast you are ready for a full day exploring and enjoying all that Dunoon and Cowal have to offer.

Reviewer:Donald Pitches | Fri 28th Oct 2016


Friendly and convenient- Rating 4/5

Very friendly and helpful . Lovely view from big lounge. Very tasty porridge

Reviewer:Shona Smith | Tue 18th Oct 2016


Warm welcome- Rating 5/5

Stayed here just one night very warm welcome relaxed very clean room and the breakfast was spot on the view from the room was awesome. Definitely go back when where in that kneck if the woods

Reviewer:David Parkinson | Mon 17th Oct 2016


Good stopover - Rating 5/5

Good stay at the St Ives Hotel, with really friendly welcome and service. Room was warm and comfortable and met my needs for my stay. Only slightly negative thing is that the water pressure wasnt good for my shower but other than that a very good value stay

Reviewer:Tony Burns | Fri 7th Oct 2016


Outstanding. - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, room [Mull] excellent, great bed ,breakfast outstanding.

Reviewer:Robert Macintyre | Wed 5th Oct 2016


Clean, comfortable and pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

I stayed for a short two day break and had a pleasant comfortable stay. The hosts were friendly and helpful. The accommodation was clean with magnificent sea views. Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Alex Forsyth | Mon 3rd Oct 2016


Charming spot on the shore- Rating 5/5

Arrived at the hotel, which is a couple of minutes from the Dunoon/Gourock ferry and my hosts stored my bike in a secure shed. They showed me thedining room for breakfast and then provided a free room upgrade. The spacious room with en-suite bathroom was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. Just beside my room was a large lounge area for guest use. My hosts provided dinner suggestions in the area. The breakfast in the morning was good and hearty with numerous choices.

Reviewer:Ronald Gallant | Sat 1st Oct 2016


Comfortable Stay - Rating 4/5

The hotel is located in a wonderful position on the edge of the Clyde estuary. The hosts are very welcoming and the hotel is well maintained to show it Victorian heritage.

Reviewer:Philip Jones | Wed 28th Sep 2016


Nice location on the seafront - Rating 4/5

The hotel was very good value for the amount paid and the location was nice overlooking the sea.

Reviewer:Lucinda Wallace | Thu 22nd Sep 2016


St Ives Hotel Dunoon - Rating 4/5

Great stay here at St Ives Hotel all very friendly. Very comfortable bed and great views from room overlooking the sea. Superb Scottish Breakfast and great weather.

Reviewer:Ann Donald | Tue 20th Sep 2016


excellent value - Rating 5/5

Nice breakfast, friendly welcome, handy location. Slightly hard to find if you use the postcode for Maps on an iPhone, but there are signs on the road.

Reviewer:John Perring | Mon 19th Sep 2016


Beautiful Dunoon - Rating 5/5

I really enjoyed my stay at the St Ives Hotel. I was made to feel welcomed and special as soon as I arrived. It was a business trip, and even though I was heading out early in the morning I was still offered a lovely breakfast before my day\'s work. It was a lovely gesture, and one I really was touched by. Thank you for taking such good care of me.

Reviewer:Angela McManus | Mon 19th Sep 2016


Very nice hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel has a good location with nice views of the bay. The owner very nice, so was the room. Good breakfast. And the price was nice as well.

Reviewer:Jonathan Schnabel | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Recommended - Rating 5/5

As described, guests are assured of a warm and friendly welcome from Matt and Sandra in this beautiful cosy Victorian Hotel.Highly recommended

Reviewer:Richard Bedding | Thu 8th Sep 2016


Over night stay - Rating 5/5

Although this was just for one night we really enjoyed our stay with wonderful views comfortable rooms and a terrific breakfast, also really friendly staff.

Reviewer:David Millar | Thu 8th Sep 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, friendly and great for dogs.

Reviewer:Clare Bailey | Sat 3rd Sep 2016


Overnight stay for Cowal Gathering. - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcome . Helpful staff . Clean room . Central location with fab view yet still quiet . Brilliant breakfast .

Reviewer:Karen Manson | Mon 29th Aug 2016


Patricia and Jim - Rating 5/5

Had an exceptionally relaxing time.Sandra and Matt were fabulous hosts.Would recommend for a short break.

Reviewer:Patricia O\\\'Brien | Sun 21st Aug 2016


Perfect - Rating 5/5

In an overbooked Scotland we found this small hotel as just 40 miles from Oban. What a surprise. Resview fro lounge and breakfatsroom.

Reviewer:Joek Van Montfort | Fri 19th Aug 2016


one night stay - Rating 4/5

Take a map because it cannot be seen from the road but it is nice hotel right on the seafront with only a footpath between it and the sea. very nice breakfast,nice room,comfy bed and the manager was friendly and helpful.would go back.

Reviewer:Jonathan Lynch | Fri 19th Aug 2016


Friendly staff and an eye catching location - Rating 5/5

Although a little difficult to locate this sea front property affords a warm welcome and a hearty breakfast equating to good value for money.

Reviewer:Bernard Hunter | Tue 16th Aug 2016


Friendly Guest House with beautiful views ober the Firth of Clyde - Rating 5/5

We were very well looked after by the friendly owners of St Ives Hotel. We greatly appreciated that our vegetarian preference had been noted and catered for in our breakfasts. The bedroom was comfortable and quiet. The guest lounge was lovely and had a panoramic view of the Firth of Clyde. We really enjoyed our short (two nights) stay. Thank you!

Reviewer:Bob Johnson | Tue 16th Aug 2016


A Wee Gem - Rating 0/5

Warm friendly welcome it had beautiful decorated rooms and breakfast was very large and tasty will definitely be back!

Reviewer:Harry Coleman | Mon 15th Aug 2016


St ives hotel - Rating 5/5

We stayed here one night in August. The hotel is central and easy to find with a lovely view of the Clyde. The rooms are clean and neat wirh all the expected stuff like tv, kettle, hairdryer, toiletries etc. The breakfast was above par and came quickly. I only spoke to the lady owner and she was very helpful and pleasant. I was here for an annual event and I would definitely book here again.

Reviewer:Baxter Mckellar | Mon 15th Aug 2016


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

I had a brilliant stay at the St Ives Hotel. The owners were really friendly I was welcomed quickly, the rooms where clean and had everything you need the breakfast in the morning was really nice too. They also told me of places to eat and drink which again where really nice on the evening!The views from the front of the hotel are spectacular and the small pebbled beach is directly at the end of the property and was lovely to walk along. The parking is good at the front of the hotel which for me was a relief as I was driving a large box van and can sometimes struggle finding parking at hotels.Would definitely Recommend!

Reviewer:Scott Donnelly | Fri 12th Aug 2016


st ives hotel - Rating 5/5

Great location next to sea . friendly and helpfull owners.A great place to stay thanks

Reviewer:Pauline Abbott | Wed 10th Aug 2016


St Ives Hotel - Rating 5/5

Only stayed for one night but thoroughly enjoyed my stay, we were well looked after and a delicious breakfast in the morning.

Reviewer:Calum Ross | Wed 10th Aug 2016


Pleasant stay - Rating 3/5

Clean, friendly place in a good location

Reviewer:Jan Dow | Sun 7th Aug 2016


Very nice - Rating 4/5

Really nice base for a trip to Dunoon , town is a short walk away and it is right on the sea front , all in all good

Reviewer:Neil Taylor | Fri 5th Aug 2016


Nice overnight stay. - Rating 4/5

One night stay visiting Benmore botanic gardens.Good value and nice choice of breakfast including kippers for an alternative.Room comfortable slept well lightening storm aside.Friendly host with local knowledge handy if first time in area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elaine Carnegie | Fri 5th Aug 2016


Short breaks - Rating 5/5

We have stayed here twice now and find the hotel clean, pleasant and ideally situated for town and beach.The owner is very friendly and helpful and her breakfasts lovely. No hesitation in recommending this well priced holiday break.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Aitken | Tue 2nd Aug 2016


Excellent hotel- Rating 5/5

Really pleased with the hotel and the surroundings.A cosy hotel with a breathtaking view and very friendly staff feels like home!!

Reviewer:Isuru Koswatte | Mon 1st Aug 2016


Brill - Rating 4/5

We had a great time visiting Dunoon and the St.Ives was the best place to stay. Thank you guys

Reviewer:Helen Farquhar | Mon 25th Jul 2016


TRIP DOON THE WATER - Rating 5/5

Great place to staygreat location cleanwarm and friendly Sandra on hand giving you information about what to do and where to eat. Will be staying again

Reviewer:Pat Marshall | Mon 25th Jul 2016


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely weekend at the St Ives hotel. Room was a bit dated but had everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent and we felt very welcome. There was a huge communal lounge which was very comfortable. We will definitely come back to St Ives hotel the next time we visit Dunoon.

Reviewer:Gerard McLaughlin | Fri 22nd Jul 2016


Holiday - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel spotless sandra and matt good hosts if staying in dunoon look no further than the st ives

Reviewer:Stephen Halliwell | Mon 18th Jul 2016


Will definitely return - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, lovely clean hotel run by lovely people, would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Joyce Henderson | Mon 11th Jul 2016


perfect place to stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed the stay very much. Nice Room, perfect breakfast and an extrordinary hospitality and helpfulness of the owners. #this will be my first adress in Dunoon

Reviewer:Manfred Pauly | Mon 11th Jul 2016


Really Nice Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

If you want to spend few relaxing days this is the place to stay.Very friendly manager, confortable and clean rooms.

Reviewer:Guy PORTAL | Tue 5th Jul 2016


wonderful hotel. - Rating 5/5

A beautiful location with spotlessly clean rooms and the most friendly of hosts made this a most enjoyable break for us.

Reviewer:Douglas Aitken | Mon 4th Jul 2016


Day out in Dunoon.- Rating 5/5

Hotel was spotless, great breakfast, and comfy beds

Reviewer:Stephen Stewart | Mon 4th Jul 2016


Excellent from 1st to last day. A+++++ - Rating 5/5

When we are in the area again this is where we will stay. Everything was as it should be, excellent.

Reviewer:Robert Kerr | Mon 27th Jun 2016


First Rate Short Stay - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcome, comfortable room and excellent food.Outstanding value for money - highly recommneded.

Reviewer:Richard Bedding | Wed 22nd Jun 2016


stay at the St Ives - Rating 5/5

Thank you Sandra and Matt, David and I and Charlie had a lovely stay with you pity about the weather also thank you for changing rooms it was much appreciated hope to see you sometime in the near future, once again thank you.

Reviewer:Rachel Young | Tue 14th Jun 2016


Clean and comfortable - Rating 4/5

Clean and comfortable. Handy for town and a lovely view from our room and also the lounge. Breakfast good and helpful owner. For the money we got exactly what we exptd.

Reviewer:Sheila Barbour | Sat 11th Jun 2016


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

First class well run hotel close to town great service great breakfast would definitely recommend

Reviewer:Gordon Smith | Tue 7th Jun 2016


Review- Rating 5/5

I had a wonderful stay at St Ives. I was made to feel welcome and i throughly enjoyed myself. The room was spotless and very comfortable with a wonderful view of the coast. Breakfast was amazing. The owners were very kind and helpful. I would thoughly reccomend st ives. Thank you for making my short break.

Reviewer:Tracy Jones | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Couldn\'t be better - Rating 5/5

Great hospitality, food, views and room.Thanks

Reviewer:Laurence Whitehouse | Sun 5th Jun 2016


overnight stay- Rating 4/5

Travelling to Kennacraig to take the ferry to Islay.Wonderful ferry ride from Gourock to Dunoon and superb view from hotel. Sandra was very friendly, suggested an excellent restaurant for dinner,refroze the ice blocks from my cold bag and served us a delicious breakfast. Thoroughly recommend it.

Reviewer:Elizabeth Wiltshire | Sun 5th Jun 2016


About hotel - Rating 5/5

Its lovely host nice hotel

Reviewer:Frances Lamouchi | Tue 31st May 2016


Excellent- Rating 5/5

The hotel is quietly located facing the sea and there is just a pedestrian esplanade separating it from the beach. My room was large and well decorated. The bed was comfy. Bathroom and separate toilet were in good condition, though the electric shower was a bit feeble. There\'s a large lounge too. The breakfast room is pleasant and the meal good. An attentive welcoming host contributed to a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Andrew MacEwan | Mon 30th May 2016


Very good hotel - Rating 5/5

Very good hotel. Excellent service. Good location with Sea views.

Reviewer:Ian KInsley | Fri 20th May 2016


Erholsamer Urlaub - Rating 5/5

Sauberes ordentlich geführtes kleines Hotel. Die Zimmer sind liebevoll eingerichtet. Sandra (die Chefin ) war sehr liebevoll und hilfsbereit. Ich persönlich mochte besonders das sxhottische Frühstück.☺ die Loznge ist klasse.Sie ermöglicht einen wunderbaren Blick über die Bucht.Alles in allem einfach super. - weiter zu emofehlen.

Reviewer:Arne Hampel | Fri 20th May 2016


pleasent stay at st.ives - Rating 5/5

we booked in for an overnight stay,mine hostess most welcoming and informative,very nice room/bed breakfast spot, on would go back

Reviewer:Hugh Teyhan | Tue 17th May 2016


St Ives Hotel - Rating 5/5

Perfect location and facilities. Very clean. Host very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Breakfast superb. Would recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Eileen Collins | Fri 13th May 2016


\'St Ives Hotel\' - Rating 5/5

Very good value, excellent room, with clean shower, wc, bed, etc. Great breakfast. Parking. Suited us just fine.

Reviewer:JamesMcCallum-1 | Thu 12th May 2016


Very pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our one night stay at the St Ives. Parking available at the front. Friendly and helpful hosts. We had a room overlooking the sea which was well appointed and comfortable. Very good breakfast with good choice. We would have no hesitation staying here again.

Reviewer:Ken Grainger | Sat 7th May 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

As always, my stay was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.Sandra and Matt very friendly and helpful.Matt even carried luggage upstairs. Both very knowledgeable on local area. Room very comfortable and breakfast choice very good. Have booked again for June and am looking forward to it.

Reviewer:Jane McEwan | Sat 30th Apr 2016


Recent enjoyable stay at this hotel - Rating 5/5

I stayed here with a friend for a two night break. I wish we had been able to stay longer. We were made most welcome from the moment we entered the hotel until we left. The room was very clean, nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. We did enjoy our breakfasts and the one evening meal we had. Neither of us have big appetites, but I am sure Matt and Sandra would have gone out of their way to prepare anything we wanted.The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the Pier/Bus stop which is a bonus when one is not very able to pull a case for a long distance.On our next visit we would hope to extend our stay and enjoy further the hospitality of this hotel

Reviewer:Miss. Louise Marshall | Wed 6th Apr 2016


My stay at the St.Ives hotel- Rating 5/5

I stayed at the St.Ives hotel in Dunoon for 6 nights and I would definitely recommend this hotel ! It was clean and welcoming and the owners very friendly! It was in a great location with stunning views over the bay. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Dorothy Clarke | Thu 24th Mar 2016


- Rating 5/5

Our third time of staying for the weekend. Lovely comfortable room, great breakfast and friendly welcoming hosts. We will be back.

Reviewer:Frank Reynolds | Mon 7th Mar 2016


Home from home - Rating 5/5

A very friendly welcome, comfortable room,stunning view and the sun was shinning!!!Would try tobook again for next visit.

Reviewer:Alex Lamont | Sun 28th Feb 2016


Business stop over - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcoming stay

Reviewer:Denise Murdoch | Sat 27th Feb 2016


short break - Rating 4/5

Lovely small hotel very well looked after by super friendly lady owner. Room was perfect with king size bed wide screen tv tea-coffee etc .lovely views from front looking on to sea front.breakfast was excellent with a great choice made to order.overall great value for money and would highly recommend.

Reviewer:John Currie | Thu 28th Jan 2016


Hello - Rating 4/5

Lovely. Staynice people a little. Pricey for a long stayPat😂

Reviewer:Patricia Boel | Mon 2nd Nov 2015


Lovely break - Rating 5/5

Stayed for two nights in one of the front facing rooms.The room was very nice with a glorious view.Didn\'t see too much of Matt other than when we arrived and he took our cases to the room but Sandra is the most attentive host,very helpful and good fun.Breakfast had a wide variety of offerings and was very good.I would happily stay here again,one of the best seaside hotels I have stayed in.

Reviewer:Marc Windridge | Sat 31st Oct 2015


Highly recommend - Rating 5/5

This hotel is exactly as description says. It was a cold night but hotel was warm.Ourhost was exceptionally nice and very informative.She served a breakfast with so many choices and plenty of it. Well worth extra for sea view as hotel could not be any nearer the water, absolutely perfect setting.Giving a five star as we know we will be back again. We travelled as 4 mature adults with high standards whoappreciate good value for money without losing on quality andSt Ives hotel fits the bill.

Reviewer:Elizabeth Brown | Mon 26th Oct 2015


St Ives Hotel - Rating 5/5

Very friendly hotel with hospitable staff - excellent room and breakfast.

Reviewer:Steve Nelson | Wed 23rd Sep 2015


Lovely hotel- Rating 5/5

Stayed from 11th to 13th sept 2015 warm welcome from Sandra .told us places to go .lovely room good breakfast .would stay there again .

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne campbell | Tue 15th Sep 2015


Good location for easy walk on Prom to town - Rating 5/5

Fine hotel with access to Prom for walking to Dunoon centre. Dog friendly. Excellent breakfast. Helpful and friendly owners

Reviewer:Norris Millar | Fri 11th Sep 2015


wonderful honeymoon night - Rating 5/5

Lovely nights stay with beautiful breakfast provided by very hospitable owners.The view from the room looking over the Clyde & West Bay at sunset was stunning.

Reviewer:Ross Campbell | Sat 5th Sep 2015


St Ives Hotel - Rating 3/5

Very clean and tidy accommodation, the full English breakfast set me up for the rest of the day.Thankyou

Reviewer:DAVID GRAHAM | Fri 28th Aug 2015


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely hosts, very accommodating to our special requirements? Accommodation excellent as was the breakfast. we will definitely stay here again

Reviewer:William Coulton | Sat 15th Aug 2015


TRES BON SEJOUR - Rating 4/5

Cette grande bâtisse est magnifiquement bien située en bord de mer. Les chambres sont grandes et la chambre Jura est très confortable. L\'accueil y est chaleureux et sympathique avec toujours un petit mot pour donner des idées de visites. Un bel endroit pour se détendre. Je recommande

Reviewer:Mr. LE MAUT STEPHANE | Fri 14th Aug 2015


First time in Dunoon - Rating 5/5

Perfect location, great hotel, great value.

Reviewer:Graeme Black | Mon 3rd Aug 2015


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Cannot faultSandra was extremely attentive and helpful with her local knowledge

Reviewer:Mr. David McGarvie | Wed 1st Jul 2015


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Cannot faultSandra was extremely attentive and helpful with her local knowledge

Reviewer:Mr. David McGarvie | Wed 1st Jul 2015


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

Welcoming owners, Sandra and Matt, lovely clean hotel, great location, stunning views and tasty breakfast.Couldn\'t fault this hotel in any way - really enjoyed our stay.Thank you, Carol

Reviewer:Carol G Boden | Wed 17th Jun 2015


Friendly seafront B & B in Dunoon - Rating 4/5

Lovely seaviews from lounge and dining room - both look southwards down the Clyde and are sunny in morning. V. helpful advice on town from landlady. Within easy walking distance of main street, restaurants, swimming pool, etc. Rooms (We booked two for us and family) were en suite, spacious with all basic facilities eg. hair dryer, TV, and warm. Would stay again. Thanks for hospitality and nicely restful environment.

Reviewer:Marie Walesby | Tue 16th Jun 2015


Recent stay at st ives - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at St Ives the views were amazing The room was clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was lovely . Sandra was very nice and helpful and we will go back and stay again .

Reviewer:Agnes Hamilton | Sun 7th Jun 2015


Good place to stay in Dunoon - Rating 4/5

Had a very pleasant stay. Our host was very friendly and couldn\'t have been more helpful.Our room was very nicely decorated and clean and the bed was comfy.Great views of the sea and mountains from the public rooms. It was so quiet with no traffic noise, so slept well. Would stay here again when in Dunoon. Excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Diane Everingham | Mon 18th May 2015


Perfect for walking in and around Dunoon - Rating 5/5

Friendly and comfortable place to stay. Great location for walking straight onto promenade. Can walk for miles in either direction. Perfect for dog, in this pet friendly hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Norris Millar | Sat 9th May 2015


Lovely little hotel - Rating 4/5

We stayed here for 3 nights. Sandra was a lovely host, very helpful and a mine of information on all things local, especially where to eat out. Hotel was very clean and in a great location with no traffic noise.

Reviewer:Sam Hanratty | Mon 4th May 2015


\'St Ives Hotel\' - Rating 5/5

loved Dunoon and the hotel lovely owners too

Reviewer:STEPHEN WILLIAMSON | Fri 1st May 2015


So relaxing! - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay at the St Ives Hotel. It was clean and comfortable with great sea views. Being able to wander along the foreshore without the noise of cars and hear the lap of the waves at night was incredibly relaxing. Being so far from home, it was great to have such quick and easy Wifi access. We received a warm welcome from our helpful hosts and the fine breakfast set us up well for our journey. Dunoon has such easy access by ferry to Glasgow and south west Scotland.

Reviewer:Jeanette Harvey | Sun 19th Apr 2015


Very friendly - Rating 5/5

Excellent choice for a relaxing weekend.

Reviewer:Moira Corrigall | Mon 30th Mar 2015


very pleasant clean and tidy hotel - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant stay great views and good scottish breakfast

Reviewer:Mark Renilson | Mon 2nd Feb 2015


Beautiful views - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcome and clean, warm room. Lovelybreakfast

Reviewer:Sandra Garrity | Sun 1st Feb 2015


winter by the sea - Rating 4/5

Nice little hotel very clean and well maintained,lovely lounge with views over west bay.Also dog friendly.

Reviewer:Mr. Geoffrey Green | Mon 26th Jan 2015


A very pleasent stay! - Rating 5/5

Very friendly people, nice bedroom, cozy living room with sea view, wifi internet, free parking and a delicous full scottish breakfast!We\'ll be back when we\'re around!

Reviewer:Guntmar Feuerstein | Sun 23rd Nov 2014


A Welcoming Atmosphere- Rating 4/5

A Victorian charm to this hotel whereby the owners care about their guests. The food was excellent,couldn\'t fault it and the warmth of the owner Sandra was second to none. The hotel is overlooking the most beautiful scenic coastline,so if tranquillity is a requirement,this hotel meets the criteria.Jacqui Roberts

Reviewer:Jacqueline Roberts | Wed 24th Sep 2014


As expected - Rating 5/5

We stayed here due to the high ratings on booking.com and trip advisor. Everything was as described. A great traditional b& b (and more!) with an excellent personal and genuine service.My parents said the hotel was the best thing about the holiday! I\'ll certainly go back again. What a beautiful part of the world, and there was so much more we wanted to see and do.Thanks Sandra and Matt.

Reviewer:Joe Doherty | Sun 21st Sep 2014


Very comfortable and welcoming - Rating 5/5

2 nights spent in September and I found the welcome from Sandra so warm and welcomingBedrooms very clean and great viewsGreat value

Reviewer:Steve Lowe | Mon 15th Sep 2014


Very good hotel - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night. Very friendly welcome. Nice room and great sea view

Reviewer:Ian KInsley | Wed 10th Sep 2014


a sunny place - Rating 4/5

a pleasant stay. a place to come back. The Setting is perfect wenn you like the seaside the outdoors.Friendly owner and a good scotisch breakfast.And not to Forget the big lounge with a great view.

Reviewer:Miriam Van Schriek | Tue 2nd Sep 2014


Miss - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, very clean and owners helpful and friendly.I deffentaitly return to St Ives hotel.

Reviewer:Alison Blair | Mon 1st Sep 2014


Miss - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, very clean and owners helpful and friendly.I deffentaitly return to St Ives hotel.

Reviewer:Alison Blair | Mon 1st Sep 2014


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

We stayed two nights comfortable clean room,traditional Scottish breakfast just a five star service all round, we would stay again.

Reviewer:Yvonne Fisher | Sat 30th Aug 2014


good small hotel - Rating 4/5

Good location with great views over the bay. Very comfortable,with a good breakfast and a very helpful and friendly owner. Recommended

Reviewer:James Hunter | Sun 24th Aug 2014


Hotel almost on the Beach! - Rating 4/5

Had a little trouble finding the Hotel as did not think the entrance to it would be down a very narrow one way street towards the beach area!! Once that was sorted there was no real problem. Very close to the town, easy walking distance for most. The owners were exceedingly helpful and served up a very good breakfast. It is obviously a resort with many visiting from Glasgow, only an hour away by public transport!Plenty of places to eat in the town.

Reviewer:Mike Linden | Wed 20th Aug 2014


A Great Weekend. - Rating 5/5

This was a most pleasant stay in a beautiful setting. Food was excellent and Sandra and Matt excellent hosts. Rooms for our party were spotless clean, bright and welcoming. Definitely one for a return visit in the future.

Reviewer:Alison Lamb | Tue 19th Aug 2014


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

A very relaxing and pleasant stay at this hotel. Very good breakfast with a good choice of food. Very friendly and informative proprietors, nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend the St Ives to anyone.

Reviewer:David Marshall | Tue 19th Aug 2014


Charming Place - Rating 5/5

The hotel is situated in an idyllic setting overlooking the water. The proprietors could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The accommodation was of very high standard with all the necessary facilities.

Reviewer:Andrew Mountain | Fri 15th Aug 2014


nice, clean, friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

Our `deluxe` double room was smart & comfortable. Our welcome was warm and the proprietors are friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Fantastic sea views from the lounge on the first floor. Dunoon`s a quiet place but well-placed for exploring this part of Scotland. Excellent, frequent ferries & train link. Glasgow in under an hour. Car parking space tight. With goodwill it`s not a huge problem though. Car park a couple of minutes walk along the esplanade.

Reviewer:Susan Barraclough | Thu 14th Aug 2014


St Ives Hotel, Dunoon - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel close to town centre overlooking the clyde, Some great walks nearby when the weather is nice.Service is excellent very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Reviewer:Stephen McGoldrick | Tue 12th Aug 2014


Dunoon break - Rating 4/5

Hi Sandra, Thank you for our lovely stay at St Ives where you made us feel so welcome and your knowledge for the area so helpful on our trip down memory lane!Will certainly be recommending St Ives to friends and family. Thank you for the yummy breakfasts, compliments to the chef.Best regards,Anne and Harry

Reviewer:Harry Gadd | Mon 11th Aug 2014


Great holiday. - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay with Sandra and Matt, really friendly and helpful, full of local knowledge. Lovely breakfast, and modern, clean bedroom. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Neil Gibbons | Sun 10th Aug 2014


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

I just spent one night at the ST Ives on business,what a lovely location at a quiet end of Dunoon right on the seashore.The bedroom and facilities where first class,the breakfast was hearty and set me up for the day.If i am back in the area for business or pleasure i would stay again.WOULD recommend the ST Ives to anyone staying in Dunoon.

Reviewer:Steven Allsop | Sat 9th Aug 2014


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Well many positive reviews already but anyway here´s mine...EXCELLENTTo find such a gem beautifully situated on the secluded side of Dunoon,a more peaceful and relaxing atmosphere would be hard to find. Friendly and helpful owners made our stay to be all we had wanted and a return visit would not go amiss. Thank you Sandra and Matt...6 stars out of 5 from brian and nini

Reviewer:Brian Moffatt | Sun 3rd Aug 2014


Sympathique - Rating 4/5

Accueil très chaleureux et de bons conseils sur les choses à voir dans la région.

Reviewer:Fanny HENNEQUIN | Fri 1st Aug 2014


review - Rating 5/5

Very nice hotel. Be aware of need to get ferry though to glasgow side and plan travel in advance for smooth trip.

Reviewer:Jonathon Kelly | Thu 31st Jul 2014


Short but excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We only stayed one night but found the hotel very comfortable and the owners extremely helpful.When they realised we had to leave before breakfast we were offered a packed lunch in lieu which was delicious.We would definitely recommend St Ives.

Reviewer:Caroline Hirst | Wed 30th Jul 2014


Review - Rating 4/5

Sandra made me feel welcome. Nice, relaxing weekend. Nice digs in a great location. Excellent value for money

Reviewer:Graham Scouller | Tue 15th Jul 2014


Great visit! - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay. Very accommodating, nice rooms, instant service whenever we needed assistance, drinks or whatever. Great info about the region.Would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends visiting the area.

Reviewer:Susan Miles | Fri 11th Jul 2014


Don't be put of with the outside - Rating 5/5

Don't be put off with the outside.This is the best hotels that we stayed in on our weeks holiday.Very clean and tidy lovely lounge to sit in at night with fantastic out look over the water.Owner was very freindly and breakfast was very good.

Reviewer:Ian Skirving | Mon 7th Jul 2014


June 2014 - Rating 5/5

June 18-20, 2014. Thought the St. Ives was excellent. Comfortable room, beautiful views, very nice breakfast, Matt & Sandra are warm and friendly hosts, and I enjoyed the nautical decoration theme throughout. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody. The parking situation is a little challenging, but they can't really do anything about that. We hope to go again!

Reviewer:Kevin Cropp | Sun 6th Jul 2014


St Ives heaven - Rating 5/5

Top class hosts, lovely room, great breakfast and views to die for

Reviewer:Mr. John More | Fri 20th Jun 2014


Overnight Stay - Rating 4/5

A lovely sea view room. Lovely garden to enjoy.Excellent breakfast.Owner helpful and friendly. Weather fantastic.

Reviewer:Eileen Lymburn | Mon 16th Jun 2014


Good Friendly Clean Hotel - Rating 5/5

Sandra made us feel very welcome and was very informative regarding the local area.Our room was tastefully furnished and was very clean.Breakfast was very good and again Sandra was the perfect host making sure we had everything we requiredTHANK YOU

Reviewer:Helene Taylor | Sun 8th Jun 2014


Sea View - Rating 5/5

An beautiful view and a warm welcome.Very attractive and spacious bedroom.An excellent b and b.

Reviewer:John Mackenzie | Sat 7th Jun 2014


St Ives Hotel, Dunoon - Rating 5/5

My recent stay at St Ives Hotel, Dunoon, Scotland was a very pleasant one. The hotel is situated right on the shores of the Firth of Clyde. In fact the shore is 40 yards away through the garden. The area is very secluded and quiet. Rooms are clean and tidy with a good flat screen TV.Breakfast is excellent with a good selection of bacon, sausage, egg, mushrooms etc. There is also a kipper option.Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:William Robertson | Sun 1st Jun 2014


Great location and a warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Great choice of hotel, and perfectly located. We were given a warm welcome and good advice about the local area.Our room was spotless, had an amazing sea view and the bed was lovely and comfortable. To top our stay off, we had a delicious breakfast. We will definitely stay at St Ives again if we are in the area. Top marks!

Reviewer:Suzette McGhee | Wed 21st May 2014


St Ives Dunoon - Rating 4/5

Nice hotel in a beautiful location overlooking the "Firth of Clyde"comfortable room the owner Sandra was very friendly and helpful and provided a good cooked breakfast

Reviewer:Anthony O'Neill | Fri 9th May 2014


Very nice hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel is a nice building in a great location a few minutes walk from town and right on the waterfront;my room was terrific and Sandra was charming and welcoming.A great stay;I will try to come back - this time with my wife!

Reviewer:Sean Gell | Mon 21st Apr 2014


one night in Dunoon. - Rating 5/5

We were made most welcome by Sandra whose friendliness helped a lot as we were in Dunoon for a funeral. The bed was comfortable, the food very good and the shower very manageable for my arthritic hands.I would be glad to stay there again.

Reviewer:Juliet Mann | Sat 21st Dec 2013


Warm Hospitality - Rating 4/5

Peaceful, Tranquil, with beautiful Panoramic views across the loch and beyond.Thank you Sandra for your warm hospitality and recommendations re local area interests.We have no reservations in recommending St Ives hotel as the place to stay when visiting Dunoon. We WILL be back.Lindi and Gerrard.

Reviewer:Linda Cheetham | Tue 5th Nov 2013


A real winner ! - Rating 5/5

If Matt & Sandra were to enter "4 in a bed"on the telly, they would win hands down, scoring 10 out of 10 in every category. I have stayed here 2 times in the last year and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Dunoon, a real home from home.

Reviewer:Dawn Fixter | Tue 29th Oct 2013


st ives hotel dunoon - Rating 5/5

thoroughly enjoyed our stay - what a friendly welcome andpleasant quiet location, clean and comfortable room and excellent breakfast, would recommend.

Reviewer:Elizabeth White | Wed 2nd Oct 2013


September Break - Rating 5/5

Great weather, Great food and great hosts. Lovely room with a sea view. All in all we had a lovely 2nights at the St Ives Hotel.Thank you.Sheila & Mike Macdonald

Reviewer:Sheila Macdonald | Mon 30th Sep 2013


Great Hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay will be back

Reviewer:Mrs. Marian Campbell | Tue 27th Aug 2013


Lovely break - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay taking 89 year old mother away for short break. Well looked after.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Goody | Wed 21st Aug 2013


St Ives is a gem! - Rating 5/5

We had an enjoyable stay at St. Ives.Sandra gaves us a warm welcome and was helpful in sharing her local knowledge of the area. The breakfast was yummy and room comfortable with an amazing view. We will definately recommend to others. Thankyou.

Reviewer:Mr. Charles Barnett | Fri 31st May 2013


Value for money - Rating 3/5

Very pleasant B& B. Friendly. Good breakfast. Excellent value for money. Good location.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Shannon | Mon 20th May 2013


Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. John Steel | Mon 29th Apr 2013


Lovely Weekend - Rating 5/5

My husband and I recently spent the weekend at St Ives and had a lovely stay. Sandra was fantastic at recommending places to eat and visit, and couldn't have been more helpful. This is a lovely little hotel that fulfilled everything we were looking for. Will definitely return here next time we visit Dunoon.

Reviewer:Natalie Sneyd | Mon 5th Nov 2012


our stay in october - Rating 5/5

a realy lovely hotel clean friendly and great breakfast

Reviewer:Christopher Addy | Sun 4th Nov 2012


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

From the moment I arrived I was made to feel very welcome. The hotel owners have managed to retain the Victorian charm of the building and at the same time the rooms have all the modern facilities to make for a very comfortable stay. A hearty breakfast is served to get your day off to a great start and the owners go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need to make for an enjoyable stay. Add to that excellent value for money. I will certainly stay at the St Ives again the next time I am visiting the area.

Reviewer:Robert Smyth | Mon 17th Sep 2012


St Ives HotelDunoon - Rating 5/5

Very good friendly hotel.Good position, quiet.Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:ROBERT HEUGHAN | Thu 13th Sep 2012


Aussies and Scots visit to St Ives - Rating 5/5

Four of us had a great stay at St Ives hotel where Matt and Sandra did everything possible to help us. All facilities and meals and refreshments were exactly what we wanted. Would recommend to anyone as an ideal venue for a relaxing break. Owners couldn't control weather but did give reliable (poor) forecasts for one day only.

Reviewer:Charles Fleming | Sun 9th Sep 2012


IDEAL HOTEL - Rating 5/5

A friendly welcome, staff always helpful, clean hotel very good breakfast, I really enjoyed my stay at St IVES. Views stunning, ideal location in Dunoon. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:FIONA CONLEY | Thu 9th Aug 2012


St Ives - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel. Room clean and spacious. Excellent help and service from owner.Recommended.

Reviewer:Niall McAllister | Sat 4th Aug 2012


breathtaking views - Rating 5/5

A warm friendly welcome in an establishmentthat offered freshley cooked breakfast and views from the room that were breathtaking

Reviewer:Mary Reid | Mon 9th Jul 2012


st ives - Rating 4/5

friendly staff, nice clean hotel and rooms,and a great breakfast, what more could you ask for.

Reviewer:Maisie Rennie | Sun 8th Jul 2012


St Ives Hotel Dunoon - Rating 4/5

sandra and Matt the owners are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is only 2 minutes walk to the town centre and is very clean and comfortable. An excellent breakfast was seved very quickly.

Reviewer:John Bateman | Mon 25th Jun 2012


Martina - Rating 5/5

The location was ideal for us, and friendliness of the owner who made us feel very welcome, Our room was small but comfortable and very clean , and the breakfast was excellent.The location of the hotel was perfect. It was very close to Dunoon centre. Did you find this review helpful?

Reviewer:Martina Bujnakova | Thu 14th Jun 2012


St. Ives - Rating 5/5

Very welcomimg and friendly.

Reviewer:Mrs. Maria Harris | Tue 12th Jun 2012


BB - Rating 5/5

we had a very pleasant stay,lovely room and very friendly staff.

Reviewer:BRIAN BRYSON | Sun 10th Jun 2012


Short break - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel nice and clean, very friendly and welcoming really enjoyed the peacefull break would recomend hotel and Dunoon to friends.

Reviewer:Jacqueline Morrison | Fri 1st Jun 2012


Great Break - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyed our break at at St Ives Hotel, would return again, if we could get the same weather. Thanks to Sandra and Matt

Reviewer:Mrs. Bernadette Canale | Fri 1st Jun 2012


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable with excellent hospitality.

Reviewer:John Clarke | Sat 19th May 2012